CAPG Award for Excellence in Police Governance

Established in 2013 by the Canadian Association of Police Governance, the Award for Excellence in Police Governance (formerly known as the Emil Kolb award) recognizes and highlights an individual for their significant contributions, commitment, and leadership towards the enhancement of civilian police governance in Canada.

Find out more about eligibility criteria, submissions and selection please refer to the Call for Nominations – CAPG Award 2022.

If you are a CAPG member, Director or Committee member and wish to nominate a colleague, please read the Call for Nominations document carefully and fill out the 2022 Award Form.



Ryan Teschner, Executive Director and Chief of Staff, Toronto Police Services Board


The Board had a hard time making a decision on just one winner of the award for 2020 and narrowed it down to three very deserving recipients. Each winner fostered meaningful relationships with stakeholders, challenged and inspired others to work together and demonstrated a high level of integrity and ethical standards.

Terry Coleman, nominated by the Alberta Association of Police Governance

Ken East, nominated by the Peterborough Police Services Board

Mark Reder, nominated by Metro Vancouver Transit Police Board


Gordon Selinger, Former Board Member, Regina Board of Police Commissioners


Andrew Graham, Adjunct Professor
Queen’s University, School Of Policy Studies


Ron Rasmussen, Regina Board of Police Commissioners, Canadian Association of Police Governance Board


Dr. Alok Mukherjee, CAPG Past President, Former Chair of the Toronto Police Services Board


Dr. Zaheer M. Lakhani, C.M., Member of the Order of Canada, Founding President of CAPB


Eli El-Chantiry, Ottawa Police Services Board